Utah DUI Attorney | Salt Lake City DUI Lawyers
In Utah, a person is guilty of Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”) if he has a blood or breath alcohol concentration, often referred to as “BAC”, of .08 grams or more at the time of operating or being in actual physical control of the vehicle.
The lawyersat Salcido Law Firm PLLC are experienced DUI defenders and can help you if you have been charged with driving under the influence in Salt Lake City, Ogden, Provo and throughout Utah. Call us at 888.337.3235 or 801.413.1753 for your free consultation.
Generally, a first time DUI offense in Utah carries a Class B misdemeanor sentence which requires jail time of at least 48 hours and a minimum fine of $700, but can result in jail time up to 6 months and a $1000 fine, plus several hundred more dollars in court costs and other associated fines. Further, a first DUI offense will result in a 120 day driver’s license suspension. If the DUI offense also caused bodily injury to another or if the person Driving Under the Influence had a passenger 18 years or younger in the car with him, then the DUI can result in a Class A misdemeanor, which can lead to a one year jail sentence, a $2500 fine, and several hundred dollars in court costs and other associated fines.
If a second DUI offense occurs within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction the defendant is looking at a minimum of 10 days jail time, an $800 fine, the potential maximum penalties associated with Class A and B misdemeanors as describe above, and a 2 year driver’s license suspension.
If a third DUI offense occurs within a 10 year period it is punished as a third degree felony which can carry a 5 year prison sentence and a $5,000 fine. Even if the judge only orders you to be on probation and does not actually sentence you to prison, there is still a minimum jail time of 1,500 hours (62.5 days) and a minimum fine of $1,500 along with any other automatic courts costs and other fines that accompany a conviction.
Call the Salt Lake City Utah DUI Lawyers
A DUI is not something that should be taken lightly and anyone who has been charged with Driving Under the Influence should approach their defense only with adequate legal representation. If you have been charged with a DUI contact Utah’s DUI Attorneys and Get Protected!