Utah DUI Fines and Penalties Attorney
A Utah Alcohol/Drug related DUI is going to cost you, because Utah is extremely strict with its DUI laws. Further, the fines and penalties increase substantially which each consecutive DUI in any 10 year period. Consequently, you will like face fines and penalties of more than $1000 even for a first offense.
A first time DUI offense in Utah is a Class B misdemeanor which requires jail time of at least 48 hours and a minimum fine of $700, but can result in jail time up to 6 months and a $1000 fine, plus several hundred more dollars in court costs and other associated fines such as approximately a $600 car impoundment fine. A first DUI offense will also result in a minimum 120 day driver’s license suspension. If the DUI offense also caused bodily injury to another or if the person Driving Under the Influence had a passenger 18 years or younger in the car with him, then the DUI can result in a Class A misdemeanor, which can lead to a one year jail sentence, a $2500 fine, and several hundred dollars in court costs and other associated fines.
If a second DUI offense occurs within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction the defendant is looking at a minimum of 10 days jail time, an $800 fine, the potential maximum penalties associated with Class A and B misdemeanors as describe above, and a 2 year driver’s license suspension.
If a third DUI offense occurs within a 10 year period it is punished as a third degree felony which can carry a 5 year prison sentence and a $5,000 fine. Even if the judge only orders you to be on probation and does not actually sentence you to prison, there is still a minimum jail time of 1,500 hours (62.5 days) and a minimum fine of $1,500 along with any other automatic courts costs and other fines that accompany a conviction.
The court can also order that you be electronically monitored, submitted to supervised probation for which you will have to bear the costs, and have an ignition interlocking device placed on your car.
Utah DUI Metabolite Fines and Penalties
A Utah DUI Metabolite [link to Utah Metabolite page] is still a Class B misdemeanor which means that if convicted you could serve a maximum of 6 months in jail and pay a maximum $1000 fine.
Utah DUI Metabolite convictions also mandate a 120 day suspension of your driver’s license, and if you have an alcohol or drug related DUI within the prior 10 years you can lose your license for up to 2 years.
Utah’s penalties for drunk or impaired driving or even driving with any measurable amount of a controlled substance are severe. Do not try to fight the state on your own. Utah’s legal system is stacked against you and you need protection.
Salcido Law Firm is committed to getting you the best result and we are not afraid to go to trial…in fact we like trial because it forces the state to establish its burden of proof.
Call Salcido Law Firm Monday through Saturday during any time of the day and we will give you a free consultation to discuss your case. Or, if you prefer, email us and we will get back to you within 1 hour.