Utah DUI Blood Test Attorney | Salt Lake City Chemical Test Lawyer
Like most of Utah’s DUI laws, Utah is extremely strict when it comes to chemical testing for DUI. If you are pulled over and the officer has probable cause to administer a DUI chemical test (i.e., he smells alcohol on your breath) then all he has to do is ask that you submit to a chemical test and you are deemed by the state of Utah to have given your consent simply because you drive.
If you refuse the officer’s request to take a chemical test you can face having your driver’s license suspended for 18 months, having to drive with an ignition interlocking device for up to 3 years, and being prohibited from driving with any measurable amount of controlled substance for 5 to 10 years with severe penalties if violated.
The Blood Test is typically the most reliable of the chemical tests, but it must be administered by a physician, registered nurse, practical nurse or someone else who is authorized by Utah’s Department of Health Organization.
The Urine and Oral Fluids tests are not subject to the same limitations as the Blood Test, but they are still subject to certain standards that if not met can negate their results.
We Will Defend You
At Salcido Law Firm our criminal defense lawyers know how to defend against a Utah DUI even if you submitted to a chemical test, so call Salcido Law Firm at 801.413.1753 Monday through Saturday during any time of the day or night and we will give you a free consultation to discuss your case. Or, if you prefer, email us and we will get back to you as soon as possible. Don’t risk facing your DUI charges without the knowledge and experience of an SLF DUI lawyer. We serve all of Utah including Salt Lake, Provo, and Ogden.